Check-in

To those of you who were regular readers over at Blogspot, welcome to the new digs.  Don’t forget to email me (firstnamelastname at gmail dot com…get my name from up above!…and see the “How to get access to password-protected posts” link above for more details). Here I am, with an actual name attached to my posts now, no longer trying to be some anonymous dude in stripes.  It’s a little weird, but once I password protect the game logs (the only things people will be likely to get really PO-ed at me about), I’ll likely be in good shape.

Here’s where I stand as an official right now:  I attended a camp back in June.  This was my fifth camp in 12 years of officiating, and every time I’ve heard the same damn thing:  “You ref a great game, and I’d love to work with you, but you don’t look good.  Your build is too scrawny, your posture not right, and you run wrong.”  Of course, everybody chips in with how I should improve, especially with my running.  Toes first, heels first, knees up, knees not up, long strides, short strides…I’ve heard every contradictory bit of advice in history, and as a result it’s just about impossible to improve.

However, the appearance I -can- improve.  The advice to try to appear more athletic-looking is good advice.  I recall one game where a troglodytic parent came across the court to holler at me, and one of the things he said was “You don’t even look like you’ve played the game!”

Well, my goal is never to have that said of me again.  I want to delude people into thinking I was a three-sport star in high school, rather than a three-activity star (debate, choir, theater).  I’ve dropped some money on a personal trainer, and she’s been fabulous.  I’ve only been at it 2 weeks and I already feel like I see results.  I mean, actually -see- them…I have bumps where my biceps should be!  That’s never happened before.

The most important part of all of this is, of course, that this is something I should be doing anyway.  I’ve got an awesome wife, an adorable son, and a second kid on the way, and I want to live a long, long time.  So I’m glad to be doing this.

In any event, that’s where I am right now.  For the next few days, I’ll blog about the many officiating-related events of the summer that I’ve missed.  Meanwhile, feel free to contact me to get access to password-protected posts.  All game logs will be password-protected, and if you’ve been a fan of mine over in the old place, you’re welcome to that password.

Thanks for making the trip with me!

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

