On the eve of re-starting…

I’ve got a scrimmage at noon tomorrow.  Yay me.  I was remarking to my wife today that I have never in my life been this excited to start a basketball season.  Even after I took three years off for medical reasons and headed back…well, I didn’t anticipate it as much as I am anticipating this year.

So, as I find the whistles again and get set for the best year in my career (anything short of that will be a disappointment after all the time and effort I’ve put in), I will now review what I said I needed to work on for this year.

1. MENTAL FATIGUE. As it happens, the basketball season coincides with the busiest part of the year in my day job. Add a baby to the mix, and I sort of didn’t get enough sleep. I noticed, especially in December, that I was mentally less than with it on the floor sometimes. I stopped commenting about that in January and February. I don’t think it’s that I was less tired…somehow I adjusted. But, nonetheless, I need to be careful to take care of me a bit more next year–be sure I sleep enough and don’t arrive at the gym tired. It isn’t a good thing.

2. CALLING TOO MUCH AS LEAD. This continues to be an issue. I can’t seem to lay off the call across the paint when I’m lead. I’ve put this down for the past couple of years, and I still need to hold off on those whistles just a bit. This is true on drives and on some rebounds as well…I need to trust my partners on the former and be sure I have a good angle on the latter. I don’t trust the blanket statement I hear that “almost all calls should come from the C and T.” If it happens in my area, and I’m L, and I have a good angle, isn’t that what I have a whistle for? But I do get this feedback often enough that I need to re-commit to this next year.

#1 will be a challenge as long as I have a challenging day job that gets me out of bed early and keeps me operating on all cylinders through the day.  I’ve noticed that I’ve been struggling to get my workouts in as work picked up over the last month or so.  The workouts are important, but they’re also a canary-in-the-coal-mine to signal my workload is getting too great.  I’ll keep an eye out–if I’m not working out, I’ll try to re-focus at work and find stress-reducers there.

#2:  well, I’ll keep my damn eyes in my area.  I need to cross this bad boy off the list of “things to work on” this year.

You can count on hearing about it here.

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

