My mood swings

I was feeling so intense tonight, after recent tough games, that during my traditional pre-game sub sandwich meal with my wife and child, I began mulling over whether I had it in me to continue with the breakneck schedule I’ve got (3 games a week on top of my ridiculous work commitments and trying to be an active husband and dad).  The  last two games have found me heading home feeling stressed and wired.  I didn’t get to sleep until midnight on Monday just because I was decompressing.  That’s not good for any part of my life.

But those are also the exceptions.  When games go well or even averagely, like tonight, I actually leave the gym feeling more relaxed than I did going in.

“There’s no in between,” my wife observed tonight.  “You’re either wired when you come home, or you’re totally in your Zen.”

Fortunately, there are still a lot more good nights than bad ones…probably about 90/10 or 95/5.  So, just in the course of a JV/Varsity doubleheader, I went from being as high-strung as piano wire to being calm and loose like an overcooked spaghetti noodle.

That alone, I think, means that this is an avocation I’ve got to stick with.  Anything that relaxes an intense dude like me is almost required for my sanity.

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

