The ref at home

Two interesting ref-related items came up today, on a holiday with no games for me.  I spent most of today chilling with my son and my wife.

My son is 23 months old.  He’s been starting his terrible twos of late…saying “no” to most requests.  But today, he had the longest and loudest temper tantrum we’ve ever seen out of  him.

Why?

He wanted to look at my as-yet unread issue of Referee Magazine.

Since my boy destroys magazines (he loves them to death), I wasn’t yet ready to turn this issue over to him.  We offered him other magazines, books, toys.  Nope.  He wanted Referee.

My God, I hope we haven’t doomed him.  (I blame his mother.)

 

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

