I’ll be buying this.

Armando Galarraga and Jim Joyce have teamed up to write a book about the near-perfect game.

As I’ve said before, the fallout from that game–the blessed, surprising fallout–is the most important umpire-related event in my lifetime, and probably will stay that way if I live to 100.  I think that this game and Mike Pereira in the Fox studios actually undid the damage that Tim Donaghy did to us all a few years earlier…maybe more.  And the most important players in the drama weren’t Joyce or the league…they were Galarraga and Jim Leyland, for whom I will always hold a special spot in my heart.

I look forward to reading the book.  The blurb makes it look awfully good.

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

2 Responses to I’ll be buying this.

  1. Kyle Wescott says:

    I’m not sure which side you fell on, but I think it was awful that after the fact that the league didn’t denote it as a perfect game. The umpire was wrong, the umpire admitted he was wrong, visual evidence showed he was wrong… so why not fix the problem? It didn’t change the outcome of the game, it only put a footnote in history as a great game for a player who deserved to have that honor.

  2. Paul Hamann says:

    Although I tend to agree with you, I can see both sides of it. This was a once-every-two-hundred-years occurrence. Take any other notorious missed call in history and one can say that the team/player could have overcome it with better play before or after the call. But not in this case. There is nothing else Galarraga could have done–this is the only case in history that one can say, cut-and-dried, “the officials cost him the perfect game.” He did literally everything he was supposed to do, and could have done nothing better. But I do worry somewhat about cracking that door open. We all know it was a perfect game, and in some respects it will be remembered better than those by Braden, Halladay, Buehrle, etc. So I can also live with the decision Selig made.

Leave a Reply

