The Green-Eyed Monster

After today’s JV game, I said high to the crew that was about to do the boys’/girls’ Varsity doubleheader.  Two were good officials I’ve worked with often and I love going to war with: the third a guy I haven’t worked with, but who I like and has a good, playoff-level reputation.

Through the luck of the scheduling draw, both the girls and boys were playing de facto district championships for our smallest-school conference.  Of course, our assignor could not have known that a couple of weeks back when he assigned this game, and of course, these three guys are very deserving of any assignment they get.

But still, I couldn’t help but feel a little bit envious.  I’ve been successful at this level and have had, on the whole, a pretty smooth season.  So a little bit of “why not me?  why am I not getting this assignment?” crossed my mind.  But then, I’ve had similarly big games between top schools in that conference earlier in the year, so I’m not letting myself take this too seriously.  Nor am I going to be too worked up if I don’t get asked to do playoff games later this month: even though that would be a step back from next year, I’ll just ask my assignor what my shortcomings are that he’d like to see me work on to get back to playoff assignments.

I can’t control much beyond that, and I therefore won’t.   I’ll just get myself on that JV game later this week and do a good job with it.  It’s all I can do.

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

