African ref love

I’m a casual soccer fan, but I’m told Zambia’s win in the African Nations’ Cup was a pretty cool story. So as I read up on it, I was gobsmacked–GOBSMACKED!–by an entire paragraph of ref-love from writer Jonathan Wilson.  Here’s the best part:

The Gambian official Bakary Gassama was particularly impressive, ignoring the passionate home support and awarding a penalty to Morocco in the final minute of its game against Gabon when he had every excuse to rule that Charly Moussono had handled accidentally.

Oh, yeah!  That’s what I like to see.

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

