Social Challenge: The Hospitality Room

I didn’t even know that the Hospitality Room existed, but partner pointed it out after tonight’s tournament game.  We headed out there.  He stopped to say hi to his wife and said he’d meet me there.  So I ventured out there alone.

When I got there, I found the coaches for the losing team sitting there.

I did not want to be there.  The coaches were not angry and were a class act, but I just don’t like kibitzing with coaches.  Feels weird.

I grabbed some chips and salsa, some crackers and cheese, a Dr Pepper, and went out to the hallway and ate them on my own.

Partners arrived shortly thereafter and we headed into the room.  Once there, we had pleasant conversation with the coaches.

“Where do you play next?”  “Yeah, you’d won the games I had you earlier this year.”  “Sorry we missed the ball hitting the cord above the backboard–we should have gotten that.”

But it still felt weird, since I could have these guys again sometime.  Maybe I’m just weird since nobody else seemed to care or mind, but I’d rather have gone elsewhere.

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

