Half a season, coming right up…

The leaves have fallen off of the trees, I’m off for a week to dramatically overeat…what does that mean?

Basketball season is upon us!  And it’s time to ref, bay-bee.

This year will be a bit unusual, in that I’m only going to be doing about half a year: my wife will have afternoon and evening commitments for the entire 2017 calendar year, and I will therefore be watching my children instead of reffing other people’s children.  That said, I am remaining active in the association (will go to meetings, will answer the many Rules Guy questions thrown my way, may try to watch a game or two with my kiddoes).  But it’s only half a season.

I will try to maintain my goals of being a good crew chief, not getting beat so often (I flat-out need to run faster all the time), and not calling across the key as lead.  But I will do so for about 12-15 games instead of my usual 40-50.

And you’ll be here for all the action!  (Feel free to fire me off an email at the above address if you want to read the password-protected game logs.)

About Paul Hamann
I am a basketball referee in Washington State, working mostly high school games.

Leave a Reply

